Channel Islands

John Wesley first proposed a mission to Sark in 1787. Jean de Quetteville subsequently began preaching there about two years later.

Meetings were held in homes across the island including Le Clos à Joan, Grande Dixcart and a small cottage on a farm in Little Sark called Duval. Preachers from Guernsey visited regularly and, in 1796, land on La Ville Roussel on which to build a chapel was donated by Jean Vaudin, leader of the Methodists in Sark.

Jean de Quetteville dedicated the chapel in 1797. This chapel had a 'Prophet's Chamber' (see also Wesley Cottage, Trewint) as a lodging and kitchen for visiting itinerant preachers.

When Duncan Henderson became the landowner for the site of the Methodist "Ebenezer" Chapel, he did not want the chapel on that land/in his front garden, so he very generously gifted other land (the current plot) in another part of his estate, about ¾ mile from La Ville Roussel.

Royal assent was required to partition the estate because of Sark's unique land laws, but in this way, the land became the property of the Methodist Church, and Ebenezer Chapel was removed, stone-by-stone, to the new site on Rue de Sermon, where it stands today.

The new Wesleyan Chapel was commissioned in April 1926. Only the gate posts of the original Methodist site remain in situ today.

Duncan Henderson OBE is buried at the Anglican St Peter's Church, Sark.